MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE EMPLOYMENT AND APPEALS COMMITTEE HELD AT COUNTY HALL, LLANDRINDOD WELLS ON WEDNESDAY 6TH MARCH 2013

PRESENT:

County Councillor J.G. Morris (Chair)

County Councillors P.J. Ashton, J.H. Brunt, C. Davies, M.J. Dorrance, Miss A. Holloway, G.G. Hopkins, D.C. Jones, P.E. Lewis, P.J. Medlicott, D.W. Meredith, R.H. Mills G. Morgan, K.M. Roberts-Jones, K.F. Tampin, G. Williams, J.M. Williams and A. York

1. APOLOGIES EAC6 – 2013

Apologies for absence were received from County Councillors S.M. Hayes and J.G. Shearer.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST EAC7 – 2013

There were no declarations of interest reported.

The Chair was authorised to sign the minutes of the last meeting held on 7th February 2013 as a correct record.

4.	DISCIPLINARY AND GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES FOR	EAC8a - 2013
	CHIEF AND DEPUTY CHIEF OFFICERS AND THE	
	EXTENSION OF THE REMIT OF THE EMPLOYMENT	
	COMMITTEE	

The Chair stated that he had agreed to an urgent item of business coming before the Committee and in this connection the Committee was provided with the reports which had been considered by Council on 4th March and Cabinet on 5th March relating to the extension of the remit of the Employment and Appeals Committee and its sub committees together with the adoption of procedures associated with disciplinary and grievance arrangements in respect of all the Council's Chief and Deputy Chief Officers other than the Head of Paid Service, Monitoring Officer and Chief Financial Officer. The Chair stated that he was satisfied as to the urgency of the matter as there was potential for immediate action to be taken in accordance with such procedures.

It was noted that as a result of the decisions of the Council and Cabinet in this connection and given the urgency of this matter the Committee was required to establish two sub committees, determining both their size and membership.

Following discussion it was agreed that both sub committees, namely the Chief Officers Investigating and Disciplinary Sub Committee and the Chief Officers Appeal

Sub Committee should each comprise a maximum of five members, four members appointed by the Committee with the fifth member being the Cabinet member (with full voting rights) appointed by the Executive Leader. The Committee further agreed that the Chief Officers Appeals Sub Committee would deal with both disciplinary and grievance appeals. Membership of the two sub committees was duly discussed and agreed.

RESOLVED unanimously that the Chief Officers Investigating and Disciplinary Sub Committee and the Chief Officers Appeals Sub Committee shall not be politically balanced.

RESOLVED

(i) That the Chief Officers Investigating and Disciplinary Sub Committee shall comprise a maximum of five members and that in addition to the Cabinet member (who would be appointed by the Executive Leader) the following four members of the Committee be appointed to the Sub Committee

G. Morgan (Chair)

P.J. Ashton

K.M. Roberts-Jones

J.M. Williams

(ii) That the Chief Officers Appeals Sub Committee shall comprise a maximum of five members and that in addition to the Cabinet member (who would be appointed by the Executive Leader) the following four members of the Committee be appointed to the Sub

Chief Officers Appeals Committee

J.G. Morris (Chair)

A. Holloway

D.W. Meredith

A. York

(iii) That the following Councillors be appointed as reserves in relation to both Sub Committee
M.J. Dorrance

W.J. Dorranc

G. Williams

(iv) That the required training for the two Sub Committees be arranged as a matter of urgency.

Appointments Sub Committees

Details of the Appointments Sub Committees were tabled.

RESOLVED that the membership of the Appointments Sub Committees be approved as set out below:

Sub-Committee 1 Employment Committee Membership	Posts	Portfolio Holder
John Morris (Chair)	Director of Change and	David Jones
Stephen Hayes	Governance	Gary Price
Avril York		Gareth Ratcliffe
Kath Roberts-Jones	Head of Professional	Dai Davies
Ann Holloway	Services and	Gary Price
Dai Jones	Commissioning	Gareth Ratcliffe
Bob Mills	Head of Regeneration,	Graham Brown
Michael Williams	Property and Place	Garry Banks
Peter Lewis	Commissioning	Barry Thomas
Paul Ashton	Head of Adult Care	Rosemarie Harris
David Meredith	Head of Operations	Barry Thomas

Sub-Committee 2 Employment Committee		Posts	Portfolio Holder
	rgan	Head of Housing and	Rosemarie Harris
(Chair) John Morris		People Commissioning Head of Children's	Melanie Davies
John Brunt Joy Shearer		Services Head of Leisure &	Myfanwy Alexander
Geraint Hopkins Peter Medlicott		Recreation Head of Business	Dai Davies
Keith Tampin Chris Davies		Services	Gary Price Gareth Ratcliffe
Gwilym Williams Joy Jones			
Matthew Dorrance			

|--|

Members received training on recruitment from Amanda Thomas and John Bevan.

6.	DICIPLINARY AND GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES FOR	EAC8a - 2013
	CHIEF AND DEPUTY CHIEF OFFICERS AND THE	
	EXTENSION OF THE REMIT OF THE EMPLOYMENT	
	COMMITTEE	

The Committee made a number of suggestions for amendments to the procedures.

J.G. MORRIS Chairman