Cllr. Sandra Davies, Chair of Democratic Services Committee Powys County Council.

24th March, 2014

Dear Sandra,

RE: Constitutional arrangements for election of Council Chairperson/Vice Chairs.

We the undersigned would request that the Constitution Working Group, which is currently working on a new Constitution for the Council, should consider the arrangements for the future election of the Council Chairperson.

Currently under the constitution, the Chair of Council is chosen on a Shire basis, with the Chair coming alternately from each Shire within Powys (Brecon, Radnor and Montgomeryshire). Vice chairs are elected in similar rotation to facilitate the appointment of the Chair on this basis.

However, we the undersigned, feel that this current arrangement is very unfair considering that the Council is made up of 34 Members from Montgomeryshire, 24 from Brecon and only 15 from Radnor area. We therefore consider that the current historic arrangements are totally unfair to the Montgomery and Brecon Shire areas. We therefore request that the Constitution Working Group look at this with a view to possibly coming up with rotation arrangements that are more fair and more accurately reflect the Membership make-up of the Council, thus providing a similar opportunity to all Councillors in Powys, who wish to aspire to the office of Chairperson of Council.

This matter was raised at the last Montgomery 'Shire' Committee Meeting and although not actually an agenda item, this met with considerable support within the meeting and it was suggested that the best way forward was for the two Members who had raised the matter, to write to the Democratic Services Committee with a request that this receives urgent consideration by the Constitution Working Group.

We would be very happy to attend the Committee to discuss this matter in detail, should you so wish.

Yours sincerely,

Clir. Wynne Jones (Elected Member for Dolforwyn Ward)

Cllr. Phil Pritchard (Elected Member for Welshpool Castle Ward)